Shwe Tan

info@shwetan.co.uk - 01279 939 062

Open 7 days a week and until 9:30pm weeknights

  • //
  • Testimonials

Testimonials

Very knowledgeable staff

"I'd just like to commend Paige on her personable and professional attitude. She's polite, friendly and helpful both on the phone and in person. She has an excellent knowledge of the products you sell and services that you offer. She knows me by my first name and makes me feel comfortable as soon as I walk through the door. An asset to your business!"

Shwe Tan Salon Customer on 26/07/2015

Very professional staff but with a warm and friendly attitude!

"Hi Sarah (and the team) I just wanted to message to say what a lovely bunch of girls you have working in the salon at the moment! I haven't been for a while and was a bit worried about going back and seeing all new faces! I was booked in for a sun angel this evening and whilst waiting I sat back and listed to all the girls with all the different customers and everyone was so lovely and very professional but with a warm and friendly attitude! It was an absolute pleasure to hear and see!"

Gemma Barker on 01/06/2015

Fantastic Sunbeds and understanding Therapists!

"I'd been on the look out for a salon with sunbeds to help me with a skin condition. I'd read that UV can really help the healing process for all sorts of skin problems such as Ezema, Psoriasis, Acne, Pityriasis Rosea etc etc. I was a little hesitant at first because I have very fair skin (I never tan) and I wouldn't normally use a sunbed. The staff at Shwe Tan were nothing but kind and understanding and one of the therapists had been through something very similar. They recommended that I start off with 3 minute sessions on the stand up sunbed and within less than a week my skin started to heal. 3 weeks on and my skin is almost fully back to normal and the upside is that I'm beginning to get a light tan, which for me, is unheard of! I genuinely cannot recommend Shwe Tan highly enough, not only do they have a number of different sunbeds, Shwe Tan is also a brilliant beauty salon with a wide range of treatments, an impeccably clean salon, very professional and friendly staff and easy parking with an hour free in the Old Harlow car park."

C. Sharp on 28/04/2015

Love the Sun Angel!

"I always recommend people to use the Sun Angel because I love it! I was slightly sceptical about the Sun Angel before using it because I thought I may get bored laying there for 20 minutes and did worrry about burning! But I love it! I love the music selection that is on the play list and it's very relaxing I almost fall asleep when in there, and as for burning I was completely wrong Because the sensor scans my skin tone to ensure I don't over expose! I bought a course because I knew I would use them more often to keep my tan up and the deal was too good to turn down with the savings I made! I spoke to Sarah Paige about the Sun Angel, she was very helpful. She showed me how everything worked, advised me what the best cream for me are and answered any questions I had. She was very knowledgeable on everything which made me feel a lot more confident using the bed. I recommend the Sun Angel at Shwe Tan to anyone who asks me which sunbeds around the area are good to use. Everyone comments on my tan and asks where I go. I didn't use many sunbeds before because I always felt claustrophobic and on edge. There is so much space on the Sun Angel I never have that problem. I never knew how many minutes to ask for and people would never advise me on how many to do so I worried every time that I would burn that I just gave up using them. I always thought using the tanning lotions were a bit of a gimmick but I really notice the difference since using the 'Go to Black 2'. I wouldn't use anything else. I'd advise everyone to use a cream especially with the bronzers because my tan lasts longer since using them! They don't come out streaky either which is a massive bonus for me! All the staff are so friendly and helpful I really wouldn't go anywhere else they are all so accommodating and lovely. Very professional and clean. Couldn't fault anything about my experiences there!"

Kat Welch on 13/01/2015

Since coming to Shwe Tan things have changed!

"Up until very recently I have never been the type of girl to be into getting my nails done or having a tan, but since coming to Shwe Tan it has all changed. I have never been able to grow my nails as I always bite them, but after having Gelish Nails I can say I have noticed an improvement - I will be able to grow them as I think it'd be a shame to ruin how pretty they look! There's a whole range of different colours and even nail art to choose from so you can always vary it out. Shwe Tan also offers another one of my favourite things - party lashes. I have always loved having bigger looking eyelashes, but hate the fuss of sticking on strip lashes and worrying that they're going to fall off when I am out. With the party lashes they look much more natural and enhance my eyes to make them look even bigger. Whenever I have a treatment at Shwe Tan that involves me closing my eyes, the therapist that is carrying out the treatment will always ensure that I feel comfortable and they will talk me through what they're doing to put me at ease. Another one of my favourite services that is offered at Shwe Tan is the Sun Angel sunbed. I had never, ever in my life used a sunbed before I came here and I am so glad I tried it. I have one every week now, and can't even remember how pale I used to be. Everyone is always complimenting my tan and how lovely it looks on me, how it makes me look healthy and gives a nice 'glow'. I never feel like I've overdone it when I use the Sun Angel as it doesn't burn you - using the sensor will personalise the tan for your own skin type and it gives you such a deeper tan at the end result. The girls that work at Shwe Tan are always happy to answer any questions and give lots of advice if you are unsure about anything. If a member of staff is concerned about the amount of minutes you want on a sunbed, they will tell the customer this and will advise them on what they think the person should have, for their skin type, just in case they burn. They're all very welcoming and knowledgeable and always offer nothing but a professional service when it comes to treatments and the sunbeds they offer within the salon."

Shwe Tan Salon Customer on 26/10/2014

5 Stars :) Shwe-Tan in Old Harlow is Fantastic!

"I moved to Old Harlow 3 years ago and to have a good sun bed shop on my door step is a real blessing. All of the girls who have ever worked in the salon have been really approachable and friendly and you feel completely at ease when you walk through the door. All the sun beds are highly maintained and clean. And you never have to wait too long to get on one. I'd never heard of a Sun Angel before going to Shwe Tan but it's fantastic and never allows you to burn. I've had a problem with growing my nails since having my acrylic nails removed several years ago. One of the Beauty Therapist's advised me to start getting the Gelish nails to help strengthen my nails and get them into better condition. I was a bit sceptical at first but was proven wrong as after just a few weeks my nails were much stronger and thicker and in much better condition. They actually now grow to a nice shape and length. All the ranges of colours are great too so you won't ever have to have the same old thing on your hands and feet. My nails on my wedding day looked lovely! Their Spray tans are fantastic and lasts for at least 5 days in my experience. It's nice that you are offered different fragrances instead of the usual smell of a spray tan. I also get my eyebrows threaded and have had waxes at the salon and all treatments are really good and therapists are really knowledgeable and put you at ease. The party lashes are a bargain for £18 as they look really glam for a big night out and do last for a good few days if you look after them."

Lauren Hills on 21/07/2014

Wrinkle Relaxing Treatment at Shwe Tan

"My first experience at Shwe Tan was for a consultation for a wrinkle relaxing treatment. The nurse was very friendly and informative and what I loved the most was that I never felt pressured into having it. I decided to go ahead with the treatment and was amazed at the results and really pleased. In the follow up appointment I was given a small top up (as only half was given the first time to see how I reacted with it) and this was absolutely free! Also the nurse made sure I was happy with results, checked there had been no problems and answered any questions I had. In addition to this the salon is gorgeous with very friendly staff that make you feel very welcome and their range of services is massive! All in all very very happy."

Shwe Tan Salon Customer on 13/08/2013

I would definitely recommend Shwe Tan to all brides to be!

"After a bad experience at a different salon walking into Shwe Tan was like a breath of fresh air. All of the ladies there were extremely knowledgeable and made me feel completely at home! I first went in 6 weeks before my wedding but I knew that with my pale skin I needed to get it ready for the Maldives and also wanted my nails to look fab. I took a lot of advice from Sarah about the best amount of time for me to tan and worked up to a bit longer just before the day. This meant that on the day I had a healthy glow and felt like a million dollars...it also meant that I didn't burn whilst on holiday in a hot country which for me is definitely a first! I went for sparkly gel nails done for the day which really brought out the colours of the flowers and as I had gels done they lasted for the whole 2.5 weeks! Needless to say I would definitely recommend Shwe Tan to all brides to be!"

Gemma Rastelli on 28/05/2013

In the lead up to my Wedding in Ibiza...

"In the lead up to my Wedding in Ibiza I really wanted to ensure that I had a base tan to avoid any potential unsightly burning in my wedding photos and to also give me a head start on looking bronzed and feeling good. I purchased a block of sunbed minutes from Shwe Tan and had one sunbed a week in the 2 months leading up to my wedding. The prices are extremely reasonable and I love the sunbeds, they are really comfortable with lots of features and a great sound system! One of my favourite things about Shwe Tan is that they reward good loyalty too and they are the most friendly and approachable place I have ever used. On top of sunbeds they offer a wide range of other services too, my husband even used them for threading his eyebrows before the big day! I would highly recommend Shwe Tan for all your pre wedding pampering!"

Sarah Kirby on 24/05/2013

I have been going to Shwe Tan for almost two years now and they never fail to disappoint...

"I get spray tan once a month by Tasha or Lindsay and I'm always left with a natural look which is great for when I go out. I have also tried party lashes from Shwe tan by Carla, and they were a great extension to my own lashes that lasted for 5 days, I would definitely get this done again. I would highly recommend Shwe Tan."

Laura Bunn on 21/05/2013

I tried the Sun Angel for the first time a couple of weeks ago and loved it!

"I have used it twice since then and each time I am even happier with my tan! I have been on other 'normal' lay-down and stand-up sunbeds and there is always the question of 'how many minutes?' But with the Sun Angel everyone goes on it for 20 minutes and you use a scanner that scans your skin and only gives you the safe amount of UV for your skin type so that you don't burn! I also noticed that after using a tanning accelerator cream, a few days after my Sun Angel session I could still see my tan developing! It's such a relaxing sunbed too, because you are on it for 20 minutes you have the time to I relax and you can plug your own music in (with iPod or phone)! I would definitely recommend the Sun Angel!"

Shwe Tan Salon Customer on 13/05/2013

Wrinkle Relaxing Treatments

"I have been having Wrinkle Injection Fillers for the last 7 Years, and for the last few times I have had it done, I wasn't happy. I was very happy when Shwe Tan introduced it into the Salon. Nikki, who is the Nurse Practitioner that carries out the procedure, is lovely, extremely professional, and explains and gives enough feedback, to make you feel comfortable with what she is doing and the effects of it. And for someone like myself who has a phobia of needles, this is not a painful treatment at all, I do think this has a lot to do with how advanced and experienced the Nurse Practitioner is. A week after having my treatment, I am wrinkle free and have a nice natural lift, I am so so pleased with the results, and I certainly have found where I'll be coming for future treatments."

Shwe Tan Salon Customer on 21/03/2013

I have used literally every shop in Harlow and this is definitely the best!

"I have used literally every shop in Harlow and this is definitely the best, I won't go to any other sunbeds now. It's really clean and bright and all the staff there are so friendly and welcoming. I love the Sun Angel, people always comment on how tanned I look after just one session. The stand up and lay down beds work really well too, not like a lot of the shops that lie and say they've got new tubes, and you can't even see a difference in your colour after using it. Would definitely recommend these sunbeds."

Miss L Sanders on 21/03/2013

Excellent Quality Salon

"I have used Shwe Tan various times throughout the last couple of years and felt it necessary to write a review. Firstly for my congratulations to the staff and establishment for their thoughtful and professional service. I have been in many sunbed shops over the years some of which I was allowed to go on for ridiculous amounts of time and not have to fill in any forms, my health and safety was never considered - This is not the case in Shwe Tan. All staff followed procedure and I was always advised on usage of the sunbeds and what would best be suited to my skin tone. As for the shop itself and the cleanliness of the sunbeds it is immaculate. Prices are very reasonable and there are always deals on and a whole range of other treatments including Gelish Nails, Eyebrow threading, spray tans, eyelash extensions and plenty of other things. I will be a customer for life, can't wait for my holiday treatments with the help of this shop. Highly Recommended and Well Done!"

Miss V.Watters on 20/03/2013

Brilliant Eyebrow Threading

"The lady is very gentle and it's the least painful threading I've ever had (even better than the London Salons I've used). I've used the Sun Angel here too, it checks your skin first before you get on and adjusts itself to your own skin type so it's a safe bed with very good results. I found the salon very clean, hygienic and comfortable with lovely staff who make you feel really welcome. Would definitely recommend."

Shwe Tan Salon Customer on 09/12/2011

Best Tanning Salon by Far, with Friendly and Helpful Staff!

"I have tried lots of tanning salons and this is by far the best. I love having a spray tan here as you do not get that horrible orange look, it's a lovely natural brown like you have just come back from holiday, it also does not have the horrible fake tan smell as they add scents to the tan (and you can choose the scent you prefer). The staff are lovely and make you feel at ease if it is your first time getting a spray tan. I also love the Sun Angel sunbed; you don't burn on it as it measures what type of skin tone you are before you get on. You look brown after one go. My favourite tanning shop by far."

Shwe Tan Salon Customer on 22/11/2011

Brilliant Helpful Staff, Lovely Clean Salon. Would Recommend.

"I have used this tanning salon many times now, and don't think I would use any other one in Harlow. This tanning salon clearly beats all others in Harlow, the staff are all very well trained and polite, they make an effort to get to know their customers on a first name basis and offer advice that is key to you as a person. It's very very clean. All the equipment is outstanding quality. I have had numerous spray tans here as they are really good plus you can pick your choice of fragrance so you do not get that initial fake tan smell that you get with other spray tans. Staff are really friendly too. Nice natural colour with no streaks. have not tried the Sun Angel yet but have heard very good reviews about it."

Shwe Tan Salon Customer on 12/11/2011

The Sun Angel

"After walking past, I thought I would give this new Sun Angel bed a try. I came off the Sun Angel and looked a lot browner than I usually do when coming off of a normal sun bed. I was even more pleased the next morning as I was darker! Before trying Shwe Tan, I used to have 3 sun beds a week elsewhere (bad I know!). I now have one Sun Angel a week, so I'm also saving money! I highly recommend the Sun Angel, it's so much safer than any other sun bed, and also gives you a much deeper tan that lasts longer."

Shwe Tan Salon Customer on 06/11/2011

Great Spray Tans from Experienced and Friendly Staff!

"I have never been a great fan or user of spray tans in the past as I am very fair and have always had a fear of being orange from fake tans! I have used Shwe Tan a number of times for spray tans and can highly recommend it. All the spray tans I have had here have left me looking like I have a light glowing, fresh tan (people always ask if I have been away, but I have never been the nice golden colour I get from a spray from the sun!!!) The scents are lovely and fresh without the tell-tale biscuit fake tan smell. The girls are really friendly and put you straight at ease with light chatter that helps you to forgot you are in your birthday suit! I have had a few sunbeds which are also great (esp. the sun angel for pale girls like me!). If you're looking for a great spray for a special occasion or just to make you feel special during miserable times then this is the place for you!"

Shwe Tan Salon Customer on 16/10/2011

Nothing Comes Close to the Tan I had at Shwe Tan

"I went to Shwe Tan for a Spray Tan when I was in Harlow Visiting my family. It was the first time I had ever had one and I was really nervous. I have to say the staff where so welcoming and the lady who carried out my tan made me feel so comfortable and was so lovely to talk to. The salon was very well done out and very very clean. Since then I have tried a few more salons and tans as I don't live near Harlow and nothing comes close to the tan I had at Shwe Tan and the service, just wish I lived closer."

Shwe Tan Salon Customer on 13/10/2011